# Society for Ethnomusicology, Southern California and Hawai'i Chapter 66th Annual Meeting University of California, Los Angeles

Business Meeting Agenda March 2, 2024 3:00 p.m.

#### 1. Call to Order

## 2. Acknowledgements and Appreciation

#### a) Land Acknowledgment

i. The SEMSCHC acknowledges the Gabrielino/Tongva peoples as the traditional land caretakers of Tovaangar (the Los Angeles basin and So. Channel Islands). We pay our respects to the Honuukvetam (Ancestors), 'Ahiihirom (Elders) and 'Eyoohiinkem (our relatives/relations) past, present and emerging.

ii. Call for additions

#### b) Los Angeles Wildfires (Jan. 2025)

i. Call for statements/updates - Taking stock of our community

## c) Support and Funding for This Year's Meeting

- i. We are grateful to UCLA and the UCLA Department of Ethnomusicology (Roger Savage, Chair), for their kind support.
- ii. Funding of the conference was made possible by sponsorship by
  - 1. The UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive
  - 2. The UCLA Department of Ethnomusicology
  - 3. The UCLA Center for Community Engagement
  - 4. The UCLA Center for Southeast Asian Studies
  - 5. The UCLA Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies
  - 6. The Mohindar Brar Sambhi Chair of Indian Music
  - 7. The Armenian Music Program at UCLA
  - 8. The Gramian-Emrani Center for Iranian Music
  - 9. The Lowell Milken Center for American Jewish Music
  - 10. The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music
- iii. Additional donations to crowdfunding campaign (\$400 as of 02/23)
- iv. Thank you to all volunteers and panel chairs for donation of labor
- v. HASOM Media Technology and Classroom Tech. tech, streaming, recording

## d) Local Arrangements Committee

- i. Supeena Adler, UCLA (Co-chair)
- ii. Maureen Russell, UCLA (Co-chair)
- iii. Donna Armstrong, UCLA
- iv. Paul Bancel, UCLA
- v. Kathleen Hood, UCLA

## e) Program Committee

- i. Meghan Hynson, USD (Chair)
- ii. León F. García Corona, USC
- iii. Nathan Huxtable, UCR
- iv. Diandian Zeng, UCSB

## f) Remote Communications/ In Absentia

- i. Call for communications from absent members
- ii. Other communications

## g) Special Appreciation

- i. *Mahalo nui loa* to our members who traveled from Hawai'i: Kaelyn Howard, Andy Sutton, Ric Trimillos
- ii. Grateful to our honored guest who made long journeys to be with us
- iii. Thankful to those who donated to the Chapter funds: \$385 from the Board and \$450 from others (as of 02/23)

#### 3. Necrology

- a) Toumani Diabaté (1965–2024), Malian kora player
- b) Roy Haynes (1925–2024), American jazz drummer
- c) Zakir Hussain (1951–2024), Indian tabla player
- d) Quincy Jones (1933–2024), American composer and record producer
- e) Karl Kohn (1926–2024), prof. emeritus Pomona, composition teacher of Frank Zappa
- f) Kris Kristofferson (1936–2024), country singer-songwriter
- g) Greg Lee (1970-2024), vocalist of So. Cal. ska group "Hepcat"
- h) William Malm (1928–2024), American ethnomusicologist
- i) Brenton Wood (1941–2025), American soul singer
- i) Call for additional names

#### 4. Approval of 2024 Minutes

## 5. Reports from the Board

- a) President (Gibb Schreffler)
  - i. On the health of the SEMSCHC
    - 1. Logistics/website
    - 2. Participation/engagement
    - 3. Donations drive
- b) Vice President (Scott Spencer)
  - i. Announcement of the 2024 Ki Mantle Hood Prize Winner
- b) Secretary-Treasurer (Bernard Ellorin)
- c) Program Committee Chair (Meghan Hynson)
- d) Student Representatives (Eloy Neira, Dian Zeng [2<sup>nd</sup> year]; George Pioustin, Bala Raghavan [1<sup>st</sup> year])

#### 6. Election/Confirmation of New Officers

- a) Treasurer 2-year term (2025-2027)
- **b) Web Editor** 3-year term (2025-2028)
- c) Student Representatives (1-2 nominations) 2-year term (2025-2027)

## 7. 67th Conference in 2026

- a) Host Institution
  - i. USD and USC have offered to host. Other nominations are welcome.
- b) Program Committee Chair nominations
- c) Hood Prize Committee Member nominations
  - i. "The...Committee shall be chaired by the Vice-President...and shall include the current and the two immediate past Program Chairs. Other...members may be appointed by the Chapter President."

#### 8. Old Business

#### 9. New Business